glasbury pottery - bottle ovens
light-header

Transferware Worldwide - Lecture Series

Transferware Worldwide

 

The Transferware Collectors Club (TCC) is pleased to announce the launch of an exciting new educational initiative: Transferware Worldwide - Lecture Series.

In a monthly program of online lectures, experts in the field of ceramics will present scholarly talks on transferware topics to include, history, process, makers, patterns, marketing and distribution, as well as special collections. The lectures, designed to have broad appeal to ceramic enthusiasts worldwide, will be conveniently accessible online via the Zoom format. A unique presentation will be offered monthly, beginning on September 10, 2020. Each session will last one hour in duration and will include time for a lecture followed by Q & A. 

Inaugural lecture:

The Transferware Worldwide inaugural lecture, The Trade in British and other European Ceramics with the Dutch East Indies 1820-1940, will be presented on Thursday, September 10 by Jaap Otte, Development Officer, Smithsonian Institution, and TCC Member. Jaap will discuss the organization of the trade of European ceramics to the Dutch East Indies during the period 1820 to 1940, as well as the efforts to cater to preferences of the local population.

The following sessions are planned for the remainder of the year:

  • October 8 - TCC 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting for members, moderated by TCC President Scott Hanson
  • November 5 - The 'Etching Revival' and Transferware: Aestheticism on the Dinner Table, by Jeff Ruda, Professor Emeritus of Art History, University of California, Davis, and TCC member.
  • December 10 - Preserving the Art of the Engraver, by Dr. Richard Halliday, Author, Head of Curated Ceramics, Hansons Auctioneers, and TCC Member.

Local Start Times for these lectures will be as follows: US & CANADA: 1:00 pm EDT; 12 pm CDT; 11 am MDT; 10:00 am PDT (and Arizona); UK: 6:00 pm BST; Paris, Berlin, Rome: 7:00 pm; Australia (Sydney): 3:00 am; Australia (Perth): 1:00 am: New Zealand (Wellington): 5:00 am. Times will be adjusted after November 1, when Daylight Saving Time ends.

Please save these dates and plan to join fellow ceramic enthusiasts for this informative lecture series. Specific details regarding access to each Zoom lecture will be provided via email prior to each presentation date.